Inventors

The inventors

Quantum Genomics is developing a new therapeutic approach based on Brain Aminopeptidase A inhibition (BAPAI) , which result from more than twenty years of academic research in the laboratories of the Collège de France, INSERM and CNRS.

The research conducted by the team of Professor Bernard-Pierre Roques (INSERM U1022 / CNRS  Unit/ Université Paris Descartes) and the team of Dr. Catherine Llorens-Cortes (INSERM U1050 / Collège de France) characterized the role of the brain renin-angiotensin system (RAS) and more particularly that of aminopeptidase A (APA) in the control of certain cardiovascular functions including blood pressure. This research work also resulted in the synthesis and characterization of original non-peptide molecules that selectively inhibit APA such as the QGC001 product (originally named RB150).

Quantum Genomics holds an exclusive and global license for the exploitation of several patents and know-how held by INSERM and CNRS around the BAPAI technology. These patents also protect the therapeutic use in humans and animals of aminopeptidase A inhibitors, amongst which are the QGC001 and QGC006 products.

Pierre Corvol

Pierre Corvol

Professor Emeritus at the Collège de France Honorary administrator of the Collège de France
Member of the Academy of Sciences
Member of the Academy of Medicine
Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Catherine Llorens-Cortes

Catherine Llorens-Cortes

PHD in Neurobiology
Director of the Neuropeptides centraux et régulation hydrique et Cardiovasculaire (Central Neuropeptides and cardio-vascular hydro-regulation) research team- Collège de France CIRB-CNRS UMR U1050 7241/INSERM

Bernard-Pierre Roques

Bernard-Pierre Roques

Professor Emeritus at the University Paris Descartes Member of the Academy of Sciences Member of the European Academy of Sciences Member of the American college of Neuro-psychopharmacology

Marie-Claude Fournié-Zaluski

Marie-Claude Fournié-Zaluski

Doctor in Chemistry (PhD) Formerly Professor Pierre and Marie Curie University

Biographies

Pierre Corvol
Pierre Corvol, doctor of medicine, is professor emeritus at the Collège de France and an honorary administrator of the Collège de France. He led the high blood pressure department at Broussais Hospital (1986-1999) and was Director of the Inserm Unit of Vascular Pathology and Renal Endocrinology (1982 - 2006). He was Professor at the College de France (Chair of Experimental Medicine) from 1989 to 2012. He devotes his work to the study of the hormonal mechanisms of regulation of blood pressure. He established the crucial role of the renin - angiotensin - aldosterone system in the control of renal and cardiac function. The work of his team has contributed to the development of treatments commonly used in hypertension and cardiovascular diseases. He conducted the first studies on the genetics of human hypertension. He has recently worked on angiogenesis and remodeling of the arterial wall in cardiovascular pathologies.
He is a member of the Academy of Sciences, the Academy of Medicine and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He has received numerous awards including the Ciba Award for Hypertension Research (1985) and the Inserm Grand Prix (2006).
Main publications (among 732): cloning of renin and angiotensin-converting enzyme (Nature, 1982, PNAS, 1988); Molecular genetics of human hypertension (Cell, 1992); Functional consequences of inactivating mutations of the renin system in humans (Human Mol. Genetics, 2011 and 2013).
Catherine Llorens-Cortes
Catherine Llorens-Cortes has a PhD in Neurobiology (Pierre and Marie Curie University, Paris). In 1987, she joined the INSERM research team and was appointed Research Director in 1992. From 2003, she was a member of the Collège de France, director of the INSERM U691 unit entitled "Central Neuropeptides and Regulation Hydro and Cardiovascular, integrated in 2011 in the CIRB. Catherine Llorens-Cortes is conducting her first research on endogenous opioid systems. It shows the existence of opiate receptors on dopaminergic neurons (Nature 1977), allowing better understanding of dopaminergic regulation by morphine and its role in the reward system and addictive processes. It proposes a model for the establishment of tolerance and dependence on morphine (Nature 1978). It contributes to the identification of the two peptidases involved in the inactivation of enkephalins, characterizes one of them, the neutral endopeptidase 24-11 and participates in the development of one of its inhibitors, Thiorphan (Nature 1980 ), Now used as anti-diarrheal. Since 1992, she has focused her research at the neuroscience and cardiovascular interface by studying the organization and functional role of the brain renin-angiotensin (RAS) system. Catherine Llorens-Cortes and her team identified the enzyme involved in the formation of angiotensin III (AngIII), aminopeptidase A (APA) (PNAS 1996) in the brain, and showed that AngIII exerts a stimulatory effect Tonic study on blood pressure control in hypertensive rats (PNAS 1999). His laboratory then characterized in vitro and in vivo APA inhibitors, exemplified by RB150, which is administered orally in the hypertensive animal crosses the intestinal, hepatic and blood-brain barriers, penetrates the brain, blocks Activity of the cerebral RAS and normalizes blood pressure for several hours (PNAS 2004, Hypertension 2008, 2012). These data demonstrated the importance of brain APA as a potential therapeutic target for the treatment of high blood pressure and helped to bring this innovative approach to the treatment of hypertension by APA inhibitors to the clinical stage For her work, she has received several awards (including the Pierre Desnuelle Prize of the Academy of Sciences, the Societe Generale Asset Management Foundation Award for Therapeutic Innovation and the Danièle Hermann Prize of the Institut de France) . For a list of its publications see the site: http://scholar.google.com/citations?user=2IDz9xgAAAAJ
Bernard-Pierre Roques
Bernard P. Roques has a PhD in Pharmacy and Pharmacology (René Descartes University, Paris) and in Physical Chemistry (Ecole Polytechnique). He became an assistant professor at the Ecole Polytechnique, then a professor at the University of Pharmacochemistry René Descartes where he was director of the department of pharmaco molecular and structural chemistry (INSERM -CNRS). His laboratory developed the first DNA intercalators and in 1977 the first long-acting antidiabetic agent (Stagid®). The most important contributions of Bernard P. Roques are in the field of neuropeptides by discovering that pain and mood - controlled by enkephalins (endogenous opioids) - are modulated by two zinc metalloproteases (NEP and APN), Led to the development of Tiorfan® in the market for antidiarrheal agents.
He proposed the concept of double inhibitors NEP / APN as a new way to create powerful physiological and anti-depressant analgesics and extended this concept to cardiovascular diseases.
Considered a leader in research on physiological zinc metalloproteases, Bernard P. Roques is a member of the French and European Academies of Sciences, the American College of Neuro-psychopharmacology, and the Scientific Council of the Alzheimer's Disease Foundation.
Marie-Claude Fournié-Zaluski
Marie-Claude Fournié-Zaluski received a PhD in chemistry from the Pierre et Marie Curie University, Paris, France. She was then appointed professor of bio-organic chemistry at Pierre and Marie Curie (Paris). Professor Fournié-Zaluski developed his research in the INSERM unit 266 headed by Professor Bernard-Pierre Roques. She was in charge of the synthesis group in which she successfully synthesized solid-phase peptides, the synthesis of inhibitors of various peptidase activities (such as aminopetidase (APN) and neprilysin (NEP), APA and Double inhibitors). His group also developed selective inhibitors of enkephalin-inactivating enzymes, one of which (Tiorfan®) is on the market as an anti-diarrheal agent.

Marie-Claude Fournié-Zaluski worked in retrovirology on the NCp7 nucleocapsid protein. She participated with the U2666 structural analysis team in the elucidation of peptide structures by NMR studies (enkephalins, CCK8 and CCK fragments) and with the biochemistry team in structural and functional studies Of various peptidases. She is currently Deputy Scientific Director of Pharmaleads; She directs the development work of Pharmaleads in the field of metalloproteases (design of substrates and inhibitors more specifically for ACE, CEE, NEP, APA, APN).

Inventeurs

Les inventeurs

Quantum Genomics développe une nouvelle approche thérapeutique basée sur l’inhibition de l’aminopeptidase A au niveau cérébral (BAPAi – Brain Aminopeptidase A Inhibition), résultat de plus de vingt années de recherche académique au sein des laboratoires du Collège de France, de l’INSERM et du CNRS.

Les travaux de recherche réalisés par l’équipe du professeur Bernard-Pierre Roques (Unité INSERM U1022 / CNRS / Université Paris Descartes) et l’équipe du docteur Catherine Llorens-Cortès (Unité INSERM U1050 / Collège de France) ont permis de caractériser le rôle du système rénine-angiotensine (SRA) cérébral et plus particulièrement celui de l’aminopeptidase A (APA) dans le contrôle de certaines fonctions cardiovasculaires dont celui de la pression artérielle. Ces travaux ont également abouti à la synthèse et à la caractérisation de molécules non-peptidiques originales inhibant sélectivement l’APA tel que le produit QGC001 (initialement dénommé RB150).

Quantum Genomics détient une licence exclusive et mondiale pour l’exploitation de plusieurs brevets et du savoir-faire détenus par l’INSERM et  le CNRS autour de la technologie BAPAi. Ces brevets protègent en outre l’utilisation thérapeutique chez l’Homme et l’animal des inhibiteurs de l’aminopeptidase A, parmi lesquels les produits QGC001 et QGC006.

Pierre Corvol

Pierre Corvol

Professeur émérite au Collège de France
Administrateur honoraire
du Collège de France
Membre de l’Académie des Sciences
Membre de l’Académie de Médecine
Membre de l’American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Catherine Llorens-Cortes

Catherine Llorens-Cortes

Docteur en Neurobiologie
Directrice du laboratoire "Neuropeptides Centraux et Régulations Hydrique et Cardiovasculaire Centre Interdisciplinaire de Recherche en Biologie (CIRB), INSERM U1050/ CNRS UMR 7241 Collège de France

Bernard-Pierre Roques

Bernard-Pierre Roques

Professeur émérite à l’Université Paris Descartes
Membre de l’Académie des Sciences
Membre de l’Académie Européenne des Sciences
Membre de l’American college of Neuro-psychopharmacology

Marie-Claude Fournié-Zaluski

Marie-Claude Fournié-Zaluski

Docteur en Chimie (Ph. D.)
Anciennement Professeur Université Pierre et Marie Curie

Biographies

Pierre Corvol
Pierre Corvol, docteur en médecine, est professeur émérite au Collège de France et administrateur honoraire du Collège de France. Il a dirigé le service d’hypertension artérielle de l’hôpital Broussais (1986 -1999) et a été directeur de l’unité Inserm de Pathologie vasculaire et d’endocrinologie rénale (1982 – 2006). Il a été Professeur au Collège de France (Chaire de Médecine Expérimentale) de 1989 à 2012. Il consacre ses travaux à l’étude des mécanismes hormonaux de régulation de la pression artérielle. Il a établi le rôle crucial du système rénine – angiotensine - aldostérone dans le contrôle de la fonction rénale et cardiaque. Les travaux de son équipe ont contribué au développement des traitements couramment utilisés dans l’hypertension artérielle et les maladies cardiovasculaires. Il a mené les premières études sur la génétique de l’hypertension artérielle humaine. Il a travaillé récemment sur l’angiogenèse et le remodelage de la paroi artérielle dans les pathologies cardiovasculaires.

Il est membre de l’Académie des Sciences, de l’Académie de Médecine et de l’American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Il a reçu de nombreux prix dont le Ciba Award for Hypertension Research (1985) et le Grand Prix Inserm (2006).

Principales publications (parmi 732) : clonage de la rénine et de l’enzyme de conversion de l’angiotensine (Nature, 1982 ; PNAS, 1988) ; génétique moléculaire de l’hypertension humaine (Cell, 1992) ; conséquences fonctionnelles de mutations inactivatrices du système rénine chez l’homme (Human Mol. Genetics, 2011 et 2013).
Catherine Llorens-Cortes
Biographie Catherine Llorens-Cortes est docteur en Neurobiologie (Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris). Elle a intégré en 1987 le corps des Chargés de recherche de l'INSERM puis a été nommée Directrice de Recherche en 1992. Elle a été à partir de 2003 au Collège de France, directrice de l'unité INSERM U691 intitulée "Neuropeptides Centraux et Régulations Hydrique et Cardiovasculaire, intégrée en 2011 dans le CIRB. Catherine Llorens-Cortes effectue ses premiers travaux de recherche sur les systèmes opioïdes endogènes. Elle montre l’existence de récepteurs opiacés sur les neurones dopaminergiques (Nature 1977), permettant de mieux comprendre la régulation dopaminergique par la morphine et son rôle dans le système de récompense et les processus addictifs. Elle propose un modèle d’instauration de la tolérance et de la dépendance à la morphine (Nature 1978). Elle contribue à l'identification des deux peptidases impliquées dans l’inactivation des enképhalines, caractérise l’une d'entre elles, l’endopeptidase neutre 24-11 et participe au développement de l'un de ses inhibiteurs, le Thiorphan (Nature 1980), désormais utilisé comme anti-diarrhéique. A partir de 1992, elle centre ses recherches à l'interface des neurosciences et du cardiovasculaire en étudiant l'organisation et le rôle fonctionnel du système rénine-angiotensine (SRA) cérébral. Catherine Llorens-Cortes et son équipe ont identifié dans le cerveau l'enzyme impliquée dans la formation de l’angiotensine III (AngIII), l’aminopeptidase A (APA) (PNAS 1996), puis montré que l'AngIII exerce un effet stimulateur tonique sur le contrôle de la pression artérielle chez le rat hypertendu (PNAS 1999). Son laboratoire a ensuite caractérisé in vitro et in vivo des inhibiteurs de l'APA, exemplifiés par le RB150, qui administré par voie orale chez l'animal hypertendu traverse les barrières intestinale, hépatique et hémato-encéphalique, pénètre dans le cerveau, bloque l'activité du SRA cérébral et normalise la pression artérielle pendant plusieurs heures (PNAS 2004, Hypertension 2008, 2012). Ces données ont démontré l'importance de l'APA cérébrale comme cible thérapeutique potentielle pour le traitement de l'hypertension artérielle et contribué à porter cette approche innovante du traitement de l'hypertension par les inhibiteurs de l'APA jusqu'au stade clinique Pour ces travaux, elle a reçu plusieurs prix (dont le prix Pierre Desnuelle de l’Académie des Sciences, le prix de la Fondation de la Société Générale Asset Management pour l’Innovation Thérapeutique et le prix Danièle Hermann de l'Institut de France). Pour une liste de ses publications voir le site: http://scholar.google.fr/citations?user=2IDz9xgAAAAJ
Bernard-Pierre Roques
Bernard P. Roques est docteur en pharmacie et pharmacologie (Université René Descartes, Paris) et en chimie physique (Ecole Polytechnique). Il est devenu professeur adjoint à l'Ecole Polytechnique, puis professeur à l'Université de Pharmacochimie René Descartes où il était directeur du département de pharmaco chimie moléculaire et structurale (INSERM -CNRS). Son laboratoire a conçu les premiers agents intercalants d'ADN et en 1977 le premier agent antidiabétique avec effet prolongé (Stagid®). Les plus importantes contributions de Bernard P. Roques sont dans le domaine des neuropeptides en découvrant que la douleur ainsi que l'humeur -contrôlées par les enképhalines (opioïdes endogènes) - sont modulées par deux métalloprotéases à zinc (NEP et APN), ce qui a mené à l'élaboration de Tiorfan® sur le marché des agents anti -diarrhéique.

Il a proposé le concept d'inhibiteurs doubles NEP / APN comme un nouveau moyen de créer de puissants analgésiques physiologiques et antidépresseurs et étendu ce concept aux maladies cardio-vasculaires.

Considéré comme leader dans la recherche sur les métalloprotéases à zinc physiologiques, Bernard P. Roques est membre des Académies Française et Européenne de Sciences, l'American College of Neuro - psychopharmacology, et du Conseil Scientifique de la Fondation maladie d'Alzheimer.
Marie-Claude Fournié-Zaluski
Marie-Claude Fournié-Zaluski a obtenu un doctorat en chimie de l'Université Pierre et Marie Curie , Paris, France . Elle a ensuite été nommée professeur de chimie bio-organique à Pierre et Marie Curie (Paris). Le Professeur Fournié-Zaluski a développé sa recherche dans l'unité INSERM 266 dirigée par le professeur Bernard-Pierre Roques. Elle était en charge du groupe de synthèse dans lequel elle a réussi la synthèse en phase solide de peptides , la synthèse d'inhibiteurs de diverses activités de peptidases (comme l’aminopetidase (APN) et la néprilysine (NEP) , l'APA et les inhibiteurs doubles). Son groupe a également développé des inhibiteurs sélectifs des enzymes inactivant l’enképhaline, l'un d'eux (le Tiorfan®) étant sur le marché comme agent anti-diarrhéique.

Marie-Claude Fournié-Zaluski a travaillé en rétrovirologie sur la protéine nucléocapside NCp7. Elle a participé avec l'équipe de l'analyse structurale de l’U2666 à l'élucidation des structures peptidiques par des études de RMN (enképhalines, CCK8 et fragments de CCK) et avec l'équipe de biochimie à des études structurales et fonctionnelles de diverses peptidases . Elle est actuellement directeur scientifique adjoint de Pharmaleads ; elle dirige le travail de développement de Pharmaleads dans le domaine de métalloprotéases (conception de substrats et d'inhibiteurs plus spécifiquement pour ACE, CEE, NEP, l'APA, APN).