The BAPAIs

A breakthrough innovation

QUANTUM GENOMICS is developing a new class of centrally acting drugs called BrainAminopeptidase A Inhibitors (BAPAIs) for the treatment of high blood pressure and the prevention of related cardio-vascular risks such as heart failure.

These molecules target the brain renin-angiotensin system (RAS) and more specifically Aminopeptidase A (APA), the enzyme in the brain responsible for the production of Angiotensin III (AngIII) from Angiotensin II (AngII). BAPAIs prevent the production of AngIII at the level of the brain by inhibiting the enzymatic activity of APA.

The work of the INSERM/Collège de France Research Team headed by Dr. Catherine Llorens-Cortès demonstrated the role of brain RAS and brain AngIII in the control and maintenance of blood pressure in various animals experimental models. In the brain, AngIII and not AngII as established in the peripheral area, induces a tonic stimulating effect on the central control of blood pressure. The effect of brain AngIII lies on three mechanisms which contribute, independently of one another, to increase blood pressure.

  1.  AngIII increases the concentration of an antidiuretic hormone in the blood, vasopressin;
  2. AngIII increases the activity of sympathetic neurons associated with vessel vasoconstriction;
  3. AngIII inhibits the baroreflex.

bapai brain EN

 

BAPAIs are particularly promising drug-candidates for the treatment of high blood pressure and heart failure: with a single treatment, BAPAIs act simultaneously on the vessels, on the heart and on the elimination of water and salt in urine by reducing the sympathetic tone, by improving baroreflex and reducing the release of vasopressin release in the blood stream.

Les BAPAIs

Une innovation de rupture

QUANTUM GENOMICS développe une nouvelle classe de molécules agissant au niveau cérébral appelées Brain Aminopeptidase A Inhibitors (BAPAIs) pour le traitement de l’hypertension artérielle et la prévention des risques cardio-vasculaires associés tels que l’insuffisance cardiaque.

Ces molécules ciblent le système rénine-angiotensine (SRA) cérébral et plus particulièrement l’Aminopeptidase A (APA), l’enzyme responsable au niveau du cerveau de la formation de l’Angiotensine III (AngIII) à partir d’Angiotensine II (AngII). Ainsi les BAPAIs empêchent la production d’AngIII au niveau du cerveau en inhibant l’activité enzymatique de l’APA.

Les travaux de l’équipe de recherche INSERM/Collège de France dirigée par le Dr. Catherine Llorens-Cortès ont permis de démontrer chez l’animal dans différents modèles expérimentaux le rôle du SRA cérébral et de l’AngIII cérébral dans le contrôle et le maintien de la pression artérielle. Au niveau du cerveau l’AngIII et non l’AngII comme établi à la périphérie, exerce un effet stimulateur tonique sur le contrôle central de la pression artérielle. Cet effet de l’AngIII cérébrale repose sur trois mécanismes qui contribuent, indépendamment l’un de l’autre, à augmenter la pression artérielle :

  1. L’AngIII augmente la concentration d’une hormone antidiurétique dans le sang, la vasopressine ;
  2. Elle augmente l’activité des neurones sympathiques associée à une vasoconstriction des vaisseaux ;
  3. Elle inhibe le baroréflexe.

Diapositive1Les BAPAIs sont des candidats-médicaments particulièrement prometteurs pour le traitement de l’hypertension artérielle et de l’insuffisance cardiaque en raison de leur mode d’action avantageux qui permet d’agir en un seul traitement, simultanément sur les vaisseaux, le cœur ou l’élimination d’eau et de sel dans l’urine en diminuant le tonus sympathique, en améliorant le baroréflexe et en réduisant la libération de vasopressine dans la circulation sanguine.